In 1996, Professor Alfredo Moscardini from Sunderland University, visited Alanya to study the possibility of founding a new university in the town. The preliminary report was published in local media sources.
At the time, art, cultural studies and history classes were been given by Georgetown University in Alanya during summer time.

It was decided by the Reisoğlu Foundation to establish a Reisoğlu Law Faculty in Alanya depending on Akdeniz Unities. In 1992-1993, an architectural project of 18 thousand square meters was prepared by the Faculty of Architecture of Odtü. However, the name of the faculty was changed to the Faculty of Law of Alanya in 1996 and in 2002 the term "Alanya" was abolished. Then the Law School opened in Antalya. A business faculty was also established in Alanya.

Akdeniz University currently has 3 faculties (Business Administration, Engineering and Education) and a vocational high school (ALTSO-MYO) in Alanya. The initiative of the University of the Mediterranean to establish a medical school in the province and the decisions of the relevant Senate and YÖK were a major step in the field of education.

In 2009, there was news that TOBB-ETU in 2009 was going to establish a tourism faculty in Alanya, however, there has been no developments since.

As a training foundation, Hamdullah Emin Paşa Foundation (founded in 1934), which opened the private HEP School in 1978, started its initiatives in 2007 to establish the first university in Alanya. On 14 March 2008, two participatory meetings were held and a feasibility report was prepared in the light of the consensus from these meetings.

The foundation made its first official application to the Higher Education Council (YÖK) on the 23rd December 2008 with the number 148/335 by presenting the feasibility report prepared on the 26thAugust 2009 and other required documents. The Higher Education Institutions Unit of YÖK requested some changes in the application file and the requests were fulfilled during the year 2009.

The Board of Trustees for Alanya HEP University was established in 2009 by the founders. The number of the members was 15 in 2010. At the meeting of the delegation dated on the 4th December 2010, the developments in the physical, financial and administrative structure of the University were discussed and the delegation formed sub-groups on these issues.
The application made in 2010 was approved by the Education Commission and presented to the General Assembly of the Higher Education Council and two presentations, the first of which was on the 5th of March 2010, were made to introduce the university at the General Assembly.

The law to establish Alanya HEP University was accepted and was published in the Official Gazette on the 3rd of March 2011. This was the result of the intensive efforts of Vice President Bulent Arinc, the Deputy of Antalya Mevlüt Cavusoglu, the former governor of Alanya Hulusi Doğan, the Mayor Hasan Sipahioğlu and other administrators.

After the law was published, the Board of Trustees began to work on the preparation of the Master Regulation, which is the constitution for the foundation of universities. The main regulations of other foundation universities were examined accordingly. The draft of the Main Regulation of the Alanya HEP University was accepted by the Board of Trustees, approved by the Higher Education Council and published in the Official Gazette dated July 18, 2011 and entered into force.

After determining the physical restructuring criteria, Architect İlker Karaduman, from Alanya, started to prepare the architectural plans for the academic buildings on the land in Cikcilli allocated to the university.
After the architectural plans were completed and approved by the Board of Trustees, Alanya HEP University foundation was laid on the 18th of November 2011 with a crowded ceremony attended by Deputy Prime Minister Bulent Arinc, the Vice President of YÖK, the Governor of Antalya, academic and administrative directors and the public.

On the 23rd of April 2013, a roundtable meeting was held in Alanya, under the chairmanship of YÖK Executive Board member Prof Dr Durmuş Günay, where the academic structure was reviewed; academicians from various universities also attended it.
Construction of the first building in Nimet and Abdurrahman Alaettinoğlu Campus, financed entirely by donations of people from Alanya, was completed in December 2013. Environment and landscape application was completed in accordance with the prepared plan. In January 2014, academic and administrative directors and faculty members were placed in their offices.

In 2014-2015 academic year, it was planned to accept students for three departments. 75 students, 15 of which were foreign students, were admitted to the Architecture Department at the Faculty of Arts and Design, to the Department of Gastronomy and Culinary Arts at the Tourism Faculty and to the Tourism Management Department. In addition, the School of Foreign Languages, which consists of Basic English (Preparatory class) and Modern Language courses, has also been active. There are 3 faculties, 2 institutes, 3 departments and 2 graduate programs in our school.

Prof. Dr. Erol Sayın was appointed to the Rectorate of the Alanya HEP University by the Board of Trustees and the assignment was ratified through Higher Education Board decree number 73112577-201.99/58474 dated 06 November 2013. In 2014, the appointment process of deans, lecturers and administrators was initiated and the university's board and senate were formed. In October, 2016 Prof. Dr. Mehmet Durdu Öner was appointed as the deputy rector.

An Eco- Technopark, International Conference Hall and Botanic Park are among the projects of Alanya HEP University for the future.